Adjacent of the Hemingway Home, at 938 Whitehead St., is the Key West Lighthouse Museum & Keeper's Quarters. Completed in 1847, the lighthouse guided mariners through the treacherous Key West waters until it was decommissioned in 1969. Today both the light and the Keeper's Quarters have been completely restored by the Key West Art & Historical Society to show visitors what life was like for a lighthouse keeper in the days before electricity and automation.
Visitors can climb an 88-step spiral staircase to the historic light's watchroom for a panoramic view of Key West, step inside a 12-foot "first order" lens circa 1858, learn the stories of two courageous female lighthouse keepers and observe historic artifacts, photos and journals.
The Key West Lighthouse Museum is open daily from 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.